The Worst Best Poem I’ve Ever Read

Auden is my new favourite poet.

I don’t know if I should be laughing my ass off, offended by the crude language, or crying in shame for reading the whole thing. Twice. (Just to make sure that every stanza rhymes, mind you)

No need to paraphrase it, since you can’t get clearer, more descriptive imagery than that. Seriously, “Tower of power”? LMAO

This also struck me as Dr. Seuss cross with a Harlequin novel.

We aligned mouths. We entwined. All act was clutch,
All fact contact, the attack and the interlock
Of tongues, the charms of arms. I shook at the touch
Of his fresh flesh, I rocked at the shock of his cock.

Except that Dr. Seuss never made it past G-rating. And Harlequin novels are decidedly heterosexual.

Go read at your own risk:
It was a spring day, a day for a lay, …

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

