Miles to Go Before I Sleep

‘Tis strange to see a familiar quote in a fanfiction1. While it’s not entirely out of place in the context, I can’t imagine the character quoting it reading a Muggle poem, much less using it, albeit tauntingly. LOL

I’m still reeling from yesterday’s wine tasting. Waking up with no signature headache of hangover, I thought I wasn’t that susceptible to the acquired taste2 of wine after all. Turns out that, although without the less favourable façade of alcohol afterglo.. sorry— after impact, my drinking wine does leave a longer mind-mushing, extremity-numbing, and vertically-challenging effect than drinking those on the lower end of the sophistication scale does.

I’m glad I had half a mind to pass Red Label last night. My stomach certainly was sufficiently sullied by that point, what with the wine tasting morphing into a beer festival and all.

To quote Tui’s steps in savouring wine: “มอง-ดม-แดก-จบ”.
Then he went on to show how one properly drank beer.
I love seeing P’ Note wincing every time he saw Tui swigging& down glass after glass of precious wine. And looking as if he was torn between spitting the mouthful out and swallowing it with a gulp of beer.

Where was I? Ah, yes, the poem:

Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening
Poem lyrics of Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening by Robert Frost.

Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village, though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there’s some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

[1] “Can’t stay, I’m afraid,” said Rosier. “For I have promises to keep, and miles to go before I sleep.”
[2] the task which I still haven’t managed

One Comment to “Miles to Go Before I Sleep”

  1. Since when that you have a sense of poetic kind of mood I cannot remember. Though sometimes haigu or verses you chose are realistically beautiful. By the way, I once loved Celine Dion’s “Miles To Go (Before I Sleep)”.

    Anyway, as far as I have experienced liquor, wine, Red Label, and beer are three things that I never put in the same paragraph (call me taxonomist).

    I really do appreciate if you would bring me a bottle of red wine when you’re coming back. *o*

Leave a Reply

